Maine Surfboard Ding Repair & Restoration

Oh My Alaia

Posted in Uncategorized by eugecole on October 1, 2009

I have been having dreams about shaping an Alaia. I dream about the rails, the tail, I dream about the nose design. 

alaia 1

One of the best things about surfing is that it is free. No lift pass or admission fee required. Just jump in the ocean and surf. But there is the initial cost of equipment. A decent surfboard is going to cost $700. And we are conditioned to believe that making your own board is unrealistic; ordering a foam blank, shaping the rocker and rails, nose/tail, concaves and hulls. Then you have to glass it with toxic chemicals and create cancerous dust all through the process. After all that, it may or may not ride well.

Along comes Wegener to re-introduce the Alaia. A shaped plank of wood. I can do that, and if I screw-up…no big deal…it is cheap, so try again.

So I had to build one. Here are the specs: Made out of pine, just under 8′ long, 3/4″ thick, 17 3/4″ at widepoint, 15 1/2″ at skinny point, and a slight parabolic bringing the tail back out to 16″. I have a concave from the mid-point to the tail, and a mostly flat nose. My gut is telling me that it is too long, my rails are too sharp, the wide-point is too close to the nose, and my skinny point should be skinnier. But all those things can be fixed. I will give ‘er a test run as is, and I can re-shape as I go.

Images of my shaping process here.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Eef said, on October 15, 2009 at 8:54 am

    I really like this blog! Load of great pictures, thanks for that.

    The alaia looks great, how does it go?

    Greetings,

    Eef

    • eugecole said, on October 15, 2009 at 12:02 pm

      Thanks.

      I have only had the alaia out once, in weak waist high mush. A learning experience for sure. I need to get it out in some clean waves that have some push, this weekend looks good here.

      Monster-boards look cool-I will have to explore your site more!
      Eugene


Leave a Reply

